Legendary UK producer Dave Lee founded Z Records back in 1990. It was the natural successor to his highly influential first label, Republic Records, which remains for many, the foundation stone of the UK house scene.

It was on Republic that Dave first introduced the UK to such classics as Phase II’s “Reachin’” and Turntable Orchestra’s “You’re Gonna Miss Me”. These tracks nestled snugly alongside his own early productions such as Raven Maize’s “Forever Together”, still viewed as an unfading classic house track to this day.

Using Z primarily as an outlet for his own material, Dave has continued to champion all things funky and soulful with a consistently high level of quality underground releases. The last few years has seen the label establish its own successful production complex which has given rise to huge electronic anthems such as Jakatta’s “American Dream” and Joey Negro’s “Make A Move On Me” among its many commercial hits. Indeed, Dave’s prolific quality output on Z is matched only by the innumerable aliases he adopts, with Jakatta, Joey Negro, Sessomatto, Akabu, The Hed Boys, Doug Willis, Mistura, Z Factor and The Sunburst Band being some of the more popular ones.

Though Z and its sister production house (Z Productions) still continues to showcase the prodigious production talents of Dave Lee, the label has also featured the work of other respected luminaries such as Masters At Work, Blaze, Basement Jaxx, Erro, Copyright, Jazz’n’Groove, Bini & Martini, The Blackbyrds, Osunlade, Motif and Mark Knight plus more recently Opolopo, Sean McCabe, JKriv, Crackazat, D.C LaRue and Al McKay.

As a result, and not surprisingly, Z has become a byword for consistently great music among lovers of soulful electronic music across the World.

Visualizzazione di 9 risultati